Abundance

Life with Fiber and Fiber Arts

Baby Steps November 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Hannah Cuviello @ 11:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

Well, I have a confession to make.  In all my life, I have never kept a journal, diary or penpal for more than two weeks. I feel that this doesn’t bode well for my blogging career.  I’m willing to give it a go, though.

Here is what I have been doing while not writing my blog:

I have been making a cable chart…Vine chart

and knitting it.Vine cableThen tearing it out.Green Yarn

I tried inserting it into a hat…Pretty but...

Then tore it out again.Green yarn 2

I repeated this process about 5 times, each time getting a little farther along on the hat.  Ironically, the goal of this exercise was to create a simple, one skein hat pattern to share with all my wonderful friends out there and to celebrate the arrival of the new Cascade 128 Superwash (that is, a bulky weight superwash wool).  Well, the yarn is no longer newly arrived, but I did finally come up with a simple, cabled, one skein hat pattern.  I liked it so much, in fact, that I knit it up again in another color. Now, I have only to write it up and put it in a sharable format.  I have complete faith that I can accomplish this at least in the time it takes me to write another blog post. Hmm…

Seedling hat As for the yarn, I have to commend, above all,  its sturdiness.  As I said above, this hat was knit and unknit numerous times while retaining its structural integrity and pleasing texture. I love it. Plus, it comes in all my favorite colors (at the top-Turtle and immediately above-Pacific).

In between drafts of my hat, I found myself in dire need of a feeling of accomplishment. Thankfully, there were several skeins of yarn that had escaped my detection during the initial packing stages.  One of these sneaky beasts became a scarf.Quickie Scarf

Ok. So it’s not my best work. The yarn was originally an attempt at self-striping handspun, however it turned out that these particular stripes were totally lacking in subtlety or harmony. It was very quick, though.  In the future, I intend to spend some portion of my “immense amounts of free time” improving my spinning and fiber blendig skills. Don’t worry, you will all hear about it.

Coming up next…A hat pattern.

 

3 Responses to “Baby Steps”

  1. Kabira Says:

    Hey Hannah! Kudos for making it to Spokane, with husband, cat and ALL the ABUNDANCE of yarn in tow! and for starting your blog and designing a hat! Busy girl! I miss yarn-knit-crochet talk with you too and am adding your blog to my bloglines list so I will know when you post. And I’m knitting with folks at Twin Paradox tomorrow, so will announce. PS. the hat is cute! (so are husband and cat, of course!)–Kabira

  2. Sherry Says:

    Hannah, You will love Spokane. Four seasons and the “Inland Empire” is sorely in need of new knitting stores. Two closed this last year! You are a wonderful addition to a community that needs your creativity. I grew up in Spokane and moved to Portland to spend my adult years and have never understood the lack of great knitting stuff in the town. Many outlying communities shop in Spokane and you could be very successful initiating Spokane knittyness. Good luck! Sherry PS I miss the Abundant Yarn store! It was wonderful!

  3. Sharon Says:

    Hi Hannah!

    Congratulations on making it to Spokane with all that yarn in tow! I miss your physical store with its great selection of yarn and wonderful knitting space. I feel sad whenever I drive by it.

    May you have the absolute best success in your online venture!

    Sharon


Leave a Reply

